Digital Council

The Digital Council was established at a City Council meeting on June 21, 2022. The chair of the Council is Alexandra Briem. The Council's resolution was confirmed by the City Council on September 20, 2022.

The Digital Council acts under the authority of City Council as detailed in this Resolution , the Resolution on the Management of Reykjavík City and City Council Minutes, No 1020/2019 as amended and as required by law, cf. also the first paragraph of Article 37 of Act No 138/2011 on Local Authorities.

The Digital Council is responsible for shaping policies about transparency, democracy, digital and service matters, as well as internal and community innovation. It makes decisions and submits proposals to the City Executive Council concerning its mandate. Additionally, the Council supervises the operations of the Department of Service & Innovation and ensures that the policies and strategic plans of Reykjavík City within its mandate are followed. The Council also carries out other tasks as determined by the City Council.

The Department of Service & Innovation and the Human Rights & Democracy Office are in charge of implementing the Council's policies and projects and coordinating with other city institutions. The Council works across Reykjavík City's governance system on tasks that do not fall within the remit of the Department of Service & Innovation or the Human Rights & Democracy Office.

The Digital Council consists of seven representatives elected by the City Council and an equal number of alternates. City Council elects a chair who shall be a City Councilor. The Council elects a deputy chair and otherwise divides responsibilities among its members. The term of office of the Council is the same as that of City Council.

The Council's staff member is Eva Pandora Baldursdóttir