Capital Region Fire Service bs.

The Capital Region Fire Service is a regional partnership operating under a foundation agreement from May 31, 2000.

Its purpose is to work on prevention, provide first response to protect life and health, environment, and property, and handle other statutory tasks.

The founders of the regional partnership are the following municipalities in the capital area: Reykjavík City, Garðabær, Hafnarfjörður, Kópavogur, Mosfellsbær, Seltjarnarnes, and Álftanes Municipality.

The Board of the regional partnership is composed of the executive directors or their representatives of the member municipalities, with an equal number of alternates. The Mayor is the chair of the board. The Board's term of office is the same as that of the municipal councils. The Fire Service is located at Skógarhlíð 14.